Home  Contests  Sanctioning  Rules  Judges  TOTY  Join  BBQ Joints  Teams  Contact  Links  FAQ  

President's Message

Tony Wolfe - FBA President

FBA President's Message - October 2014

Our new contest at Hobbs, New Mexico started the 2015 Team of the Year point race. State championships will now count for double points toward the Team of the Year. Please note that due to the FBA contest calendar cycle - 2015 contests that occur after Labor Day weekend (2015) will count towards the 2016 Team of the Year points. The state championship are:

Florida - Smokin' Pig Fest- Lake City, Florida - September 18 - 19, 2015 (2016 points)

Georgia - Barnesville BBQ Blues Festival - Barnesville, GA - May 1st - 2nd, 2015 (2015 points)

Alabama - TriState BBQ Festival - Dothan, AL - April 10 & 11, 2015 (2015 points)

The Fun Cook was a fantastic event thanks to the hard work of the Fun Cook committee. Thank you Jim Frazee, Sheilah Jones, Tom Pippin, EJ Kraus, Connie Washam, Gayle Dimaggio, and Karen Hyde! Thank you to all the members and organizers that donated to the raffles! Teams and judges were thrilled when their numbers were called.

At our annual meeting a big announcement was made. Sonny's BBQ has chosen FBA as the sanctioning body for their new invitational event. The Sonny's Smokin Showdown Invitational will be held on January 29 - 31, 2016! The payout is $68,000!!! We are very excited to be working with Sonny's BBQ and we are planning to build this into one of the largest invitational events. Qualifying will be through the FBA. Every sanctioned FBA contest is a qualifier starting in November 2014. Qualifying will run through the end of October 2015. Grand and Reserve Champions from every contest will qualify. Other championship teams from across the country will also be invited. Be sure to visit the FBA webpage throughout the year for more information as it becomes available.

See you on the circuit.

Home  Contests  Sanctioning  Rules  Judges  TOTY  Join  BBQ Joints  Teams  Contact  Links  FAQ