Home  Contests  Sanctioning  Rules  Judges  TOTY  Join  BBQ Joints  Teams  Contact  Links  FAQ  

Team of the Year Program

Current Standings

The Team of the Year program (TOTY) recognizes those FBA cook teams that have perfected barbecue recipes after many sanctioned contests and years of experimentation. Is it the best barbecue? Well, judging by the points, we'd have to say it's certainly the best in the minds of our FBA certified judges!

The Team of the Year race begins each year with the first contest after the annual FBA Funcook on Labor Day weekend. It ends with the last contest of the summer, just before the FBA Funcook.
The Top 10 teams receive awards at the Celebrate Last Year party held at the Funcook and the number one team has their cook team name inscribed in the Joby Stanaland Team of the Year Trophy, donated by the very first TOTY winners - The Sorry Boys: Chip Faul and Gary Leyman - in 2002 and named after the FBA's first president.

2015 Team of the Year Rules
  • You must cook all 4 categories at a contest to receive any points. A DQ in a category does not disqualify you from points in the other categories.
  • 1 point for showing up and cooking all 4 categories at the contest.
  • 10 points for 1st place in a category, 9 points for 2nd, and so on down to 1 point for 10th place.
  • 10 points for Grand Champion, 9 points for Reserve, 8 points for 3rd overall, and so on down to 1 point for 10th place overall in addition to the category points.
  • No substitute cook teams will be able to participate in the absence of any cook team for the purpose of accumulation of TOTY points.
  • The participation of regular cook team members without the head cook will be subject to review and interpretation by the FBA Board of Directors to determine if TOTY points will be awarded.
  • TOTY points and points for other FBA programs will only be awarded to teams where the head cook is a member of the FBA.
  • The total points at the end of the year will determine the Team of the Year.
  • Only a tie for first place (Team of the Year) will be determined by the total accumulated scores from each contest the teams have cooked; all other places allow for a tie.
  • The FBA Funcook points do not count toward TOTY.

2014 Team of the Year
Sweet Smoke Q

2015 Current Standings updated as of September 21, 2014
Team of the Year Winners - Click for Final Scores
2014 - Sweet Smoke Q 2013 - Hot Wachula's 2012 - Big Papa's Country Kitchen
2011 - Git-R-Smoked 2010 - Big Papa's Country Kitchen 2009 - Swamp Boys
2008 - Swamp Boys 2007 - HomeBBQ.com 2006 - HomeBBQ.com
2005 - HomeBBQ.com 2004 - HomeBBQ.com 2003 - HomeBBQ.com
2002 - Sorry Boys

Most Grand Championships in a Season
Cook Team
Grand Champion
Woodhouse Grill
Swamp Boys
Big Papa's Country Kitchen
Swamp Boys
Big Papa's Country Kitchen
Sweet Smoke Q
Team Unknown BBQ

1. Swamp Boys40
2. Big Papa's Country Kitchen36
3. Budmeisters28
4. Sweet Smoke Q27
5. Wooley Bully BBQ Mafia26
6. Rescue Smokers25
7. Oklahoma Smoke BBQ24
8. B & T BBQ Cook Team22
9. Black Helmet20
9. Buckshot BBQ20
10. Munchee's Smokehouse16
10. Team Unknown16
10. Uncle Kenny's BBQ16

1. Sweet Smoke Q11
2. Big Papa's Country Kitchen / Rescue Smokers10
3. Hot Wachula's / Ray's Barbecue9
1. Pellet Mafia / Yes Dear10
2. Team Unknown /Texas Twisted Trio9
3. Big Daddy Q / Junkyard Dog BBQ8
1. Big Papa's Country Kitchen / Uncle Kenny's BBQ10
2. Oklahoma Smoke BBQ / Smoke Risin'9
3. Gaines County Smokers / Rescue Smokers8
1. Swamp Boys17
2. Wooley Bully BBQ Mafia10
3. B & T BBQ Cook Team / Buckshot BBQ9

High Scores 2014
OverallWooley Bully BBQ Mafia
770.66665 (Lake City, FL)
ChickenRescue Smokers
194.08332 (Lake City, FL)
RibsPellet Mafia
199.28332 (Hobbs, NM)
PorkBig Papa's Country Kitchen
200.00000 (Hobbs, NM)
BrisketSwamp Boys
199.04998 (Hobbs, NM)

Home  Contests  Sanctioning  Rules  Judges  TOTY  Join  BBQ Joints  Teams  Contact  Links  FAQ